Gourmet Dumpling House in Chinatown

Quick restaurant review. Happened to go to the Gourmet Dumpling House in Chinatown (52 Beach St.) twice in two weeks. The first time I had the Ma Po Tofu, which was nice and spicy and also I think used soybean paste which I like, along with the Vegetable Steamed “Ravioli” (i.e. dumplings) which although not as good as Wang’s Fast Food in Somerville were still quite good and way better than the usual Chinese restaurant. A had a pork dish and the pork dumplings, and he enjoyed both as well. The second time I went I came away less impressed. The “Home Style Bean Curd” I had was in a greasier brown sauce and unfortunately had chicken in it, and the Steamed Vegetable Buns had a good filling but they were more bready than doughy, i.e. on the heavy side. D’s chicken entree was likewise on the heavy side. All in all, though, it’s still definitely one of the better Chinese places I’ve eaten at in Boston. And someone on Chowhound has kindly scanned the menu , which is handy if you’re a compulsive checklist-ticker-offer like I am. 😉 Their menu’s pretty big, though, so it’ll keep you (i.e. me) busy for a while.

Leave a Reply

