A lifelong dream realized: A trip to the Cape Cod Chip Factory

A couple of months ago I fulfilled one of my lifelong dreams: to visit the Cape Cod Chip Factory. I’ve been a fan of the chips ever since I first came to Boston (although I was heartbroken when they substituted their spicy barbeque flavor for a milder one), and I’d been intrigued by the promise of factory tours printed on the back of every bag. Although I’ve been to the Cape several times I’d never managed to fit the tour in, partly I suppose because they only run them during normal business hours (i.e. M-F 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.), closed on weekends and holidays. But I finally made it, and now my life is complete. 😉

Alas, poor reader, they don’t allow pictures of the factory itself. The pictures above are from the parking lot which has signs every few feet to lead potato chip pilgrims to the entrance. The tour is self-guided and pretty minimal: just a handful of signs with diagrams and explanations in front of the glassed-off area where the machinery is working. There are also various letters and photos framed from fans. It would take you a minimum of five minutes to get through it all, and even if you’re a chip aficionado like myself and want to soak in the atmosphere you’d be hard-pressed to stretch the tour out to much beyond 15 minutes. So it’s not really worth a special trip for the general tourist, although it’s certainly easy to get there on the way to/from the rest of the Cape.

You’ll also be able to milk a few more minutes out of the experience by perusing the gift shop (which we were allowed to take pictures of). Apparently the company runs an annual competition for local schools where the kids make dinosaurs out of chips:

Alsome. Anyway, if you’re looking for more info, check out their website. Also, I was somewhat surprised to find out they’re doing popcorn now as well. I bought a bag and quite enjoyed it, but I haven’t found anywhere nearby that carries them (if anyone has encountered them, please let me know!), although the Harvest Co-op in Central Square carries a wide selection of their chips. Mmmmmm. Time to go to the grocery store. 😉

Leave a Reply

